Ice Cream Man- By Amber
2003-06-19 at 4:50 p.m.

0 comment(s). Add yours.

Amber wrote this. I would've posted it sooner, but I had to proofread it, and I felt like being lazy, just like Amber. Evangeline might write an entry soon, too. But of course, we're all lazy, so it might take a while.

----------------------------------------

The ice cream man rips people off. If he sees that you have a larger bill than the purchase price, he jacks the prices up. He parks his truck where all the middle school kids pass him to walk home. Sometimes, if I have no Coke (I drink a liter a day) or I want some ice cream I'll go out of my way to buy them from him.

One day I walked up to get two Cokes and an ice cream, which I thought would cost a dollar and fifty cents as it has for the past three years. I went up and asked for two canned cokes and a cotton candy swirl. I gave him two dollar bills and held out my hand. He just stood there. "Give me my change", I said. But refused. It pissed me off so I kept telling him to give me my change. He of course didn't. "How much is the soda then?" He said it was 75 cents. So I asked my younger but larger sister how much a can of soda is, to which she replied "75 cents". I slammed my fist on the little metal tray of his truck, called him an asshole and walked off.

After that, I started trying to think of ways to rip him off. So I went to my piggy bank and got out a plastic half dollar and a real one, since he ripped me off by 50 cents. My plan was so dumb, but I thought it just might work. I would have the real half dollar in my hand and the plastic one behind it so that when he handed me the soda, I'd drop the plastic coin in his hand and run. I was scared.

I walked up to his truck a few days later. My friend and I were rethinking my plan, and she said to just give him 25 cents and take the stuff and he wouldn't say anything, because he is passive sometimes. I was going to that but somehow I could tell he knew what I was doing. He was just standing there and wouldn't hand me anything. Holding my hand out for the soda, I stood there, not looking at his face because I was afraid I would start laughing. He wouldn't go to get the stuff so I slammed my hand on the little metal tray thing again, hoping to intimidate him into getting my soda. My friend walked over and asked him "Why is your soda 75 cents when the store sells it for 50 cents?!" He replied, "I am not ze store! I am ze store zat comes to your door!" Then he was said "Oh-keh! I let you slide!", and he handed me my soda for the price that I intended to pay. Unfortunately, I still wasn't satisfied...

yesterday ? tomorrow

It might make you feel better
current | archives | info | intro | reviews | tailbonelust | contact | disclaimer | host | image | design