Attitudes.
2003-07-02 at 8:06 a.m.

0 comment(s). Add yours.

Apparently more than a few people perceive me to be "snobby". No matter what I say, even when I'm being myself (which is... all the time!) my motives must be to make you feel like shit. However, that's not my goal at all. If me being myself hurts your feelings, maybe you have some emotional issues to tend to. Sure, I correct people when they make mistakes, but by doing so, do I intend to belittle them, or put them down? No. If you think that my only purpose is to insult you, then perhaps you're just as paranoid as I am. There's no need to defend yourself from these non-existent insults! Because [surprise!] my goal isn't to insult anyone, nor is it to prove anything, or impress anyone. Because in all seriousness, my only purpose is to be true to myself, and as sappy as that sounds, it's true. So stop with the little games and start paying attention. If I wanted to impress people, I'd have to act like someone other than myself, however, I can only be myself. I have no other options than to be myself. Also, if you find my typing intimidating, you most likely do have more self-esteem issues than me, because [surprise, again!] it's just the way I choose to type. No, I'm not trying to prove anything, just like people who "TyPe LyKE DiS" usually aren't trying to prove anything either. If you perceive the way I act to be intimidating, grow up.

I do think I know why you perceive me to be snobby, though. You expect people to conform to your rules, however, I'm not an impressionable person. Perhaps you're the snobby, selfish one. You expect me to bend over backwards for you, when recently you've been nothing but rude to me. The world does not revolve around you, or any other person for that matter. You're offended because I won't conform to your rules, but the thing is, I don't owe you anything. The world does not owe you anything. You can't expect people to give into your rules simply because you want them to. It doesn't work that way. It's not just a one-way thing. "Give it to get it." You are rude and obnoxious towards me. Do you really expect praise in return?

Am I selfish for not bending over backwards for people who don't give a shit about me? Or are you selfish for expecting me to do so?

The bottom line is, I don't feel the need to prove myself to others. I do, however, feel the need to live up to my own personal standards, and I'm sure you have your own standards as well.

You follow yours, I'll follow mine.

There's nothing to prove.

yesterday ? tomorrow

It might make you feel better
current | archives | info | intro | reviews | tailbonelust | contact | disclaimer | host | image | design